Researchers

Researchers

Name Role Phone Email Keywords
DR Philip Adamson Senior Clinical Research Fellow in Cardiology
MR. Panagiotis Anastasopoulos Research Associate
MR. Thomas Anderson Senior Research Fellow 0131 242 9215 tom.anderson@ed.ac.uk Ultrasound, image processing
PROF Ruth Andrew Personal Chair of Pharmaceutical Endocrinology 0131 242 6763 Ruth.Andrew@ed.ac.uk Endocrinology, Glucocorticoids, Inflammation, Mass Spectrometry, Analysis, mass spectrometry, glucocorticoid, metabolism
DR Mohamed Anwar Clinical Research Fellow
MLLE Adrienne Assmus Postdoctoral Research Fellow
PROF Matthew Bailey Personal Chair of Renal Physiology 0131 242 9233 Matthew.Bailey@ed.ac.uk Kidney , hypertension, renal disease, cardiovascular disease
PROF Andrew Baker Gustav Born Chair of Vascular Biology 0131 242 6728 Andy.Baker@ed.ac.uk
MS. Margaret Ballantyne Research Fellow
DR Cecile Benezech Chancellor's Fellow 0131 242 6720 cbenezec@staffmail.ed.ac.uk Immunology, Inflammation, Metabolism, B cells, Macrophages, Adipose tissue, Omentum, Pericardium
DR Abdelaziz Beqqali Research Fellow
DR Luke Boyle Clinical Research Fellow
DR Mairi Brittan Research Fellow
DR. Roger Brown Senior Clinical Lecturer 0131 242 6741 Roger.Brown@ed.ac.uk
DR Jennifer Burton Clinical Research Fellow 01312426371
DR Andrea Caporali Chancellor's Fellow 0131 242 6760 A.Caporali@ed.ac.uk non-coding RNA, Vascular Regeneration, Angiogenesis, Endothelial cells, Transcriptomics, Pre-clinical imaging, Functional genomic
MR. Roderick Carter Post-doctoral Scientist
DR Axelle Caudrillier Research Fellow
DR William Cawthorn Chancellor's Fellow 0131 242 6691 W.Cawthorn@ed.ac.uk Adipose Tissue, Bone marrow, Endocrinlogy, Metabolism, Diabetes, Obesity, Caloric Restriction, Bone, Adiponectin, Mesenchymal Stem Cells, Cell signalling, Adipocyte, sex differences, osteoporosis, anorexia nervosa, mouse models, Imaging, haematopoiesis, immunology, machine learning
DR Thomas Chambers Clinical Research Training Fellow
PROF Karen Chapman Personal Chair of Molecular Endocrinology 0131 242 6736 Karen.Chapman@ed.ac.uk Glucocorticoid, steroid metabolism, transcriptional regulation, fetal programming, cardiovascular, Endocrinology
DR Fiona Chapman Clinical Research Fellow
DR Andrew Chapman Clinical Research Fellow
DR You-Ying Chau Senior Research Fellow (EPICT) `Edinburgh Principal Investig 0131-242-6733 You-Ying.Chau@ed.ac.uk
DR Katherine Connor Clinical Research Fellow
DR Bryan Conway Senior Clinical Lecturer 0131 242 6691 bryan.conway@ed.ac.uk Kidney disease, Hypertension, Diabetes, Fibrosis, Inflammation
Dr Andrew Crawford Postdoctoral Statistical Geneticist 01173313379 Andrew.Crawford@ed.ac.uk Genetics, Epidemiology, Endocrinology, Mendelian Randomisation, Cardiovascular disease, Cortisol physiology
DR Mihaela Crisan Chancellor's Fellow +44 (0)131 651 9531 mihaela.crisan@ed.ac.uk Pericytes, hematopoietic stem cells, Mesenchymal Stem Cells, developmental biology, heart repair and regeneration, Myocardial infarction
DR Melissa Cudmore MRC Career Development Fellow 01312426292 melissa.cudmore@ed.ac.uk Angiogenesis, VEGF, Receptor heterodimerisation , Hypoxia, Endothelial cells
DR Alicja Czopek Postdoctoral Research Fellow
DR Marwa Daghem Clinical Research Fellow
DR James Dear Reader james.dear@ed.ac.uk
DR Laura Denby ESAT Fellow 0131 3302426781 laura.denby@ed.ac.uk Kidney disease, Fibrosis, microRNA, Non-coding RNA, CKD, Biomarkers, CVD
MR. Lin Deng Research Fellow
DR. Martin Denvir Reader 0131 242 9236 martin.denvir@ed.ac.uk
DR. Kerri Devine Clinical Research Fellow
MR. Neeraj Dhaun Intermediate Clinical Fellow 0131 242 6786 bean.dhaun@ed.ac.uk clinical pharmacology, chronic kidney disease, Vascular Biology, hypertension, endothelin, innate immunity, Inflammation, proteinuria
DR Mhairi Doris Clinical Research Fellow
DR Amanda Drake Reader 0131 242 6748 mandy.drake@ed.ac.uk Developmental Biology, Developmental programming, epigenetics, DNA methylation, Obesity, type 2 diabetes, NAFLD, prematurity
DR Marc Dweck Reader 0131 242 6361 mdweck@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
PROF Michael Eddleston Personal Chair of Clinical Toxicology 0131 242 1383 m.eddleston@ed.ac.uk Poisoning, Pesticides, Plants, Antidotes, Clinical Pharmacology
DR Russell Everett Clinical Research Fellow
DR Tariq Farrah Clinical Research Fellow
DR Roberta Felici Postdoctoral Research Fellow 0131 242 6619 roberta.felici@ed.ac.uk Drug discovery, Pharmacology, Molecular biology, Neuropharmacology, Assay development, Protein biochemistry
DR Alexander Fletcher Clinical Research Fellow
DR. Shareen Forbes Reader 0131 242 6741 shareen.forbes@ed.ac.uk
DR Takeshi Fujisawa Research Fellow 01316519545 t.fujisawa@ed.ac.uk Endothelial Biology, Circulating endothelial progenitor cells, Cell tracking, Cell therapy
DR Peter Gallacher Clinical Research Fellow
MISS Zaniah Gonzalez Galofre Post-Doctoral Researcher
DR. Gillian Gray Reader 0131 242 9213 gillian.gray@ed.ac.uk cardiovascular, myocardial infarction, macrophage polarisation, Glucocorticoid, estrogen, angiogenesis, fibroblast, hydrogen sulphide, repair, regeneration, neutrophil, injury
DR Celine Grenier Postdoctoral Research Associate
DR. Patrick Hadoke Reader 0131 242 6742 Patrick.hadoke@ed.ac.uk Angiogenesis, atherosclerosis, glucocorticoids, Wilm's Tumour Suppressor, Endothelin, Vascular Function, Vascular Remodelling, Androgen, Androgen Receptor
DR Anjanette Harris Research Fellow 0131 2426747 anjie.harris@ed.ac.uk fMRI, Cognitive ageing, cognitive function, rodent models of ageing, endocrine function, stress
PROF Margarete Heck Personal Chair of Cell Biology and Genetics 0131 242 6694 margarete.heck@ed.ac.uk
PROF Megan Holmes Personal Chair of Molecular Neurodenocrinology 0131 242 6737 Megan.Holmes@ed.ac.uk #pre-clinical imaging
DR Natalie Homer Research Fellow 0131 242 9333 Nhomer@staffmail.ed.ac.uk mass spectrometry, glucocorticoid, metabolism, glucocorticoids, paracetamol, chromatography, liquid chromatography, triple quadrupole, electrospray ionisation, small molecule analysis, quantitative analysis, trace analysis, tracer, plasma extraction, sample clean up, urine extraction, tissue extraction
DR Kahyee Hor ECAT Clinical Lecturer
PROF Peter Hoskins Personal Chair of Medical Physics and Biomechanics 0131 242 6740 P.Hoskins@ed.ac.uk Biomechanics, elastography, flow phantoms, medical imaging, patient specific modelling, image simulation, Ultrasound
DR John Hung Clinical Research Fellow
DR Robert Hunter Clinical Research Career Development Fellow 0131 2429214 robert.hunter@ed.ac.uk Kidney, Nephrology, Hypertension, Extracellular vesicles, Exosome, Renal tubule
DR Jessica Ivy Research Fellow Kidney, Glucocorticoids, Circadian, sodium transport, blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, heart, development, programming
DR Maurits Jansen Preclinical Imaging Facility Manager 0131 242 9359/9360 m.a.jansen@ed.ac.uk #pre-clinical imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, magnetic resoncance spectroscopy
MR. Jakub Kaczynski Clinical Research Fellow
Dr Shazia Khan Post-doctoral Researcher
DR Mukesh Lalwani Research Fellow
DR Kuan Lee Clinical Research Fellow
DR Dawn Livingstone Academic Track Lecturers
DR. Marcus Lyall ECAT Clinical Lecturer
DR Mark Macaskill Post-doctoral Research Scientist
MISS Ralitsa Madsen Research Fellow
MISS Marlene Magalhaes Pinto Research Fellow
DR Amira Mahmoud Research Fellow
DR Morag Mansley Research Fellow 0131 242 7930 morag.mansley@ed.ac.uk Kidney, Steroid hormones, Epithelial ion transport, Electrophysiology, Hypertension
DR Dominique McCormick Research Fellow Dominique.McCormick@roslin.ed.ac.uk
DR David Mellis Research Data Service Assistant
DR Robert Menzies Research Fellow robert.menzies@ed.ac.uk Cardiovascular, Kidney, Hypertension, Immune, Genetics, Diabetes, Vascular
DR Zoi Michailidou ESAT Fellow 0131 2426781 v1zmicha@exseed.ed.ac.uk hypoxia signalling, adipocytes, obesity, fibrosis, cancer
DR Mark Miller Research Fellow 0131 242 9334 mark.miller@ed.ac.uk Cardiovascular disease, air pollution, nanoparticles, atherosclerosis, nitric oxide, oxidative stress, endothelium
DR Mark Miller Research Fellow 0131 242 9334 mark.miller@ed.ac.uk Cardiovascular disease, air pollution, nanoparticles, atherosclerosis, nitric oxide, oxidative stress, endothelium
PROF Nicholas Mills Personal Chair of Cardiology 0131 242 6515 nick.mills@ed.ac.uk coronary heart disease, myocardial infarction, troponin, clinical trials, machine learning, implementation
DR James Minchin Senior Research Fellow (EPICT) `Edinburgh Principal Investig +44 (0)131 242 7930 james.minchin@ed.ac.uk Zebrafish, adipose tissue biology, genetics
MR. Vladislav Miscianinov Research Fellow
DR Tijana Mitic Research Fellow (Career Re-entry BHF Research Fellow)
PROF Carmel Moran Personal Chair of Preclinical Ultrasound + 44 131 242 6319 carmel.moran@ed.ac.uk Pre-clinical imaging, Ultrasound
Dr Ruth Morgan Postdoctoral Researcher:Equine Endocrinology ruth.morgan@ed.ac.uk
PROF Nicholas Morton Personal Chair of Molecular Metabolism 0131 242 6693 Nik.Morton@ed.ac.uk Obesity, leanness, diabetes, genetics, Biochemistry, sulfide, insulin sensitivity, insulin, insulin resistance, Adipose Tissue, liver, mitochondria, Metabolism, ageing
DR Alastair Moss Clinical Research Fellow
DR. Linda Mullins Research Fellow 0131 242 6720 Linda.Mullins@ed.ac.uk molecular biology, genome engineering, ZFNs, CRISPR Cas9, transgenics, steroid metabolism, renal function
PROF John Mullins Personal Chair of Molecular Physiology 0131 242 6722 j.mullins@ed.ac.uk
PROF David Newby Personal Chair - BHF John Wheatley Chair of Cardiology 0131 242 6515 d.e.newby@ed.ac.uk #body imaging
DR Mark Nixon Postdoctoral Research Fellow 01312426292 M.Nixon@ed.ac.uk Glucocorticoids, Inflammation, Obesity, Diabetes, Adipose Tissue, Endocrinlogy
PROF Ewan Pearson Visiting Professor
MISS Melissa Pearson Research Fellow
PROF Bruno Peault Chair of Vascular Regeneration 0131 651 9505 bruno.peault@ed.ac.uk
DR. Sari Pennings Senior Lecturer 0131 242 6145 Sari.Pennings@ed.ac.uk Epigenetics, Chromatin, Development, Cardiovascular, Stem Cells, Cell Reprogramming, Histone Modification, DNA Methylation
DR Laura Reid Clinical Research Fellow in Diabetes and Endocrinology
PROF Rebecca Reynolds Personal Chair of Metabolic Medicine 0131 242 6762 R.Reynolds@ed.ac.uk early life programming, glucocorticoids, maternal obesity, stress
DR Julie Rodor Senior Scientist +44 (0)131 242 6745 Julie.Rodor@ed.ac.uk
MS. Katharina Schraut Postdoctoral Researcher
PROF Jonathan Seckl Moncrieff Arnott Chair of Molecular Medicine J.Seckl@ed.ac.uk
DR Scott Semple Reader 0131 242 7757 scott.semple@ed.ac.uk #imaging science, magnetic resonance physics, clinical trials
PROF Robert Semple Chair of Translational Molecular Medicine
DR Anoop Shah Clinical Lecturer in Cardiology Epidemiology
DR Nicholas Spath Clinical Research Fellow
DR. Helen Spencer Research Fellow
DR Ana-Mishel Spiroski Postdoctoral Research Fellow
DR Catherine Stables Post-doctoral Research Fellow Catherine.Stables@ed.ac.uk
PROF Roland Stimson Senior Clinical Lecturer 0131 242 6748 Roland.Stimson@ed.ac.uk Obesity, type 2 diabetes, Brown adipose tissue, Glucocorticoids, Energy metabolism, White adipose tissue
DR Fiona Strachan Clinical Research Manager
Dr. Karla Suchacki Research Fellow Bone metabolism, Bone mineralisation, Bone marrow fat
DR Maaz Syed Clinical Research Fellow
DR. Panna Tandon Research Fellow
DR Adriana Tavares Research Fellow in PET Imaging 0131 242 7975 adriana.tavares@ed.ac.uk PET Imaging, Radiotracers, CT imaging, SPECT Imaging, Kinetic modelling, Dosimetry, image analysis, image processing
DR Katherine Walesby Clinical Research Fellow
PROF David Webb Christison Chair of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology 0131 242 9216 D.J.Webb@ed.ac.uk
PROF Scott Webster Personal Chair of Medicines Discovery 0131 242 6738 Scott.Webster@ed.ac.uk Drug discovery, Medicines, Protein biochemistry, Enzymes, Pharmacology, Screening
DR Michelle Williams Clinical Lecturer in Cardiothoracic Radiology Michelle.williams@ed.ac.uk Radiology, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, Cardiovascular disease, Myocardial perfusion, Myocardial infarction, atherosclerosis
DR. Joyce Yau Senior Lecturer 0131 242 6760 Joyce.Yau@ed.ac.uk